Doug on IP Comm – An independent voice on VoIP, telecom, and IP Communication

Monday morning and the disconnect between Verizon repair and Verizon call center — again

Posted on: July 13, 2009

At 9:48 AM, I received a call from a Verizon call center in Virginia, telling me that my landline service was fixed and if I had any questions or other problems, please feel free to call. This message was read by a human being working through a script.

Meanwhile,  there’s a Verizon truck parked outside,  a backhoe across the street near the above ground distribution box, and a Verizon tech and two contractors plugging in wonderful boxes to locate where exactly the line break is (hopefully not under the asphalt, please). The tech has already worked up a heavy sweat and I don’t envy his labor today.

Note to Verizon: This is the second time where I’ve got a rote call center call TELLING ME THE CIRCUIT IS FIXED WHEN A TECH IS STANDING OUTSIDE TRYING TO REPAIR IT.

Honestly, once may be bad luck and/or human error, twice indicates that the processes and the procedures are broken and need to be fixed.

It would be to laugh, if it wasn’t costing you money and goodwill.

*sigh*

Now we await Miss Utility before the digging starts, I think…

Previous postings in this saga of repair, in chronological order–

Tuesday, July 8

Verizon wireline’s 7 day service window – I’m told that someone might not look at the dead phone line until Monday, July 7

Friday, July 10

Virginia PUC responds faster than Verizon landline repair –  File a complaint only with the Virginia SCC (PUC)

Virginia PUC motivates Verizon repair for landline and other mysteries – Tech comes out, declares line dead, need new copper

Saturday, July 11

Verizon Repair fiasco continues… – Verizon call center droid says service is restored, unplug my phones, plug back in, should have dialtone

Straight talk from a Verizon supervisor… – Tech working on my line calls me back, tells me call center is wrong, didn’t read trouble ticket

More repair activity from Verizon this Saturday – Tech comes out, jury-rig a NID-to-NID connection for dial tone.

Sunday, July 12

Verizon repair Sunday phone call – Richmond supervisor calls to discuss activities

2 Responses to "Monday morning and the disconnect between Verizon repair and Verizon call center — again"

[…] my own recent dark experiences with Verizon, I can only point to Comcast’s efforts as the latest of a number of data points demonstrating […]

[…] to get you off the phone as fast as possible. They’re reading from scripts and sometimes they don’t follow the full script and/or read through the full trouble report on the computer.   I’ve had multiple call center people tell me everything was fine with my […]

Leave a Reply

Tweet-Tweet

