Doug on IP Comm – An independent voice on VoIP, telecom, and IP Communication

More tests with Belkin Gigabit powerline adapter

Posted on: June 30, 2009

UPDATE: Belkin has issued a firmwire update for its Gigabit powerline adapter — but it is beta and there are no release notes telling what it corrects.

I’ve had a chance to test Belkins Gigabit powerline adapter on some other machines and platforms in the house… I’m beginning to think that some of the low-ball results (3-5 Mbps) I saw may be due to a bug on one of the machines I was using rather than to any Belkin flaws… I may have to blow the dust off another machine (my retired laptop) and use it for testing purposes.

Two devices, same floor, on a PC, registered throughput peak of about 44 Mbps, average of 30 to 40 Mbps on multiple tests.  This I consider pretty good because 1) The loaner Cox DOCSIS 3.0 cable modem service taps out at about 50 Mbps when measured at the router, so seeing 44 Mbps through Powerline (regardless of the alleged max), is pretty impressive and 2) I haven’t jury-rigged a test(yet)  for in-room Powerline to see if I can get into/up to 100 Mbps and beyond…

I’ll likely have some more results tomorrow after some further fiddling with configurations and part/device swaps.

2 Responses to "More tests with Belkin Gigabit powerline adapter"

[…] Comment! UPDATE: You may want to check my updated testing of the Belkin Gigabit powerline adopter here. […]

I’ve been anxious to buy one of these but they sold out immediately and are still on backorder. Any idea what’s going on? Are they experiencing problems and holding off on further sales?
Thanks

Leave a Reply

Tweet-Tweet

