Doug on IP Comm – An independent voice on VoIP, telecom, and IP Communication

Belkin gigabit powerline device – yes, I found one.

Posted on: June 29, 2009

It looks like I’ll have to take back my snarky Tweets about Belkin not shipping its gigabit powerline device.  While advertised as available “immediately,” the Belkin PR peeps said I could find it at Best Buy.

Since I worship, er go to Best Buy on a regular basis, I ran down to see what was up. “My” story in Springfield (former FCC Chair Michael Powell also shows up there once in a while) didn’t have any units, and wasn’t going to be shipped any units in the next week or two, according to the in-house data base.

So, I went home and checked the Best Buy website. No joy last week, this week TA-DA,  the device showed up both on the website for purchase AND available at local stories.  Of course, no units at Springfield, no units at Potomac Mills (where I had checked last weekend, only to find a sticker and an empty shelf slot).

Today’s investigation of Best Buy revealed that there were two (2) units at the Landmark Mall location.  I drove up, looked for the device on the shelf under “Powerline” and at the “Belkin Networking” section — no joy.  Get the Best Boy to look in the back.  No joy.

Finally, I start wandering through, asile by asile (yes, I’m a little obsessive sometimes) and find the two units sitting on the bottom shelf of the graphics card section.

Stay tuned; expect to start to do testing this evening. If this device lives up to its billing of potentially doing gigabit speeds, I’ll be happy if I can pull a fraction (say 100 Mbps) of that, since I have Ye Olde (Well, New) Cox DOCSIS 3.0 cable modem and the 50 Mbps/5 Mbps service on loan.

Leave a Reply

Tweet-Tweet

